Walking Matters

Godalming & Haslemere Ramblers

Muddy walkers

Leave a comment

It is the season for mud.

Checked a the route of a walk I’m now leading on Sunday. The original leader has a domestic duty to deal with on that day. I contemplated not checking it as the route on the map looked straightforward. However, I was glad that I did because my map is out of date; one footpath has been diverted and another has been installed. Now I am prepared. I also know the way past a flooded section of road. My trekking poles came in useful to measure the depth of the water.

As I walked on a footpath by trees something loud and low-flying approached; it was a military helicopter bristling with rockets, an uncommon sight. I hoped those on board didn’t mistake my poles for something else.

I completed the route and reached the bus stop with ten minutes to spare. This gave me time to take off my gaiters and remove as much mud from my boots as I could before the bus arrived.

Author: gandhr

A local group of the Ramblers

Leave a Reply

