Walking Matters

Godalming & Haslemere Ramblers

An icy morning

Leave a comment

A hard overnight frost deterred me from joining this morning’s six mile walk from Frensham Great Pond. Roads in my neighbourhood are rarely gritted and I have a low threshold for driving in icy conditions.

Instead I checked the route of a walk I’m leading next week. It turned out to be seven miles not the 6.5 that I’d advertised. Some footpaths were muddy but not as muddy as those I encountered yesterday near Forest Green. The mud in one water-logged field was ankle-deep but, I noticed, was firm enough to retain the boot prints of the person in front of me for long enough for me to use them quickly before my feet were engulfed in mud.

During the lunch on Wednesday there was a collection for the Parkinson’s Society. £97.25 was raised.

Author: gandhr

A local group of the Ramblers

Leave a Reply

