Walking Matters

Godalming & Haslemere Ramblers

Tick inspection

Leave a comment

Yesterday I checked the route of a walk I’m to lead in two weeks time and found the distance and terrain were suitable. I also found that two unwanted passengers accompanied me—ticks. When I stopped for refreshment at a village teashop I felt something crawling up my leg. I looked and to my surprise saw it was a tick, a small black dot with legs.

Later when I sat on a stile to remove a stone from one of my boots I spotted a slightly flattened tick, a bigger brown one, stuck to the insole under my heel.

Now is the time to be aware that ticks are active. A website with useful information is Borreliosis and Disease Awareness UK.

Author: gandhr

A local group of the Ramblers

Leave a Reply

