Walking Matters

Godalming & Haslemere Ramblers

The Hindhead Tunnel

Leave a comment

I went to the Devil’s Punchbowl this morning to check the route of a walk I’m soon to lead. The area has been transformed by the opening of the Hindhead tunnel (2011). As I approached the tunnel I encountered unusual traffic.

On my outward journey I followed half a house. This had to travel in the middle of the carriageway otherwise its roof would have hit the underside of the tunnel. On my return home I came up behind a ship. This fitted (just) in the left-hand lane but I waited until it emerged from the tunnel before I overtook it.

Shortly after that I spotted a solitary hearse, complete with coffin and flowers, travelling at a stately sixty. The driver in front of me hesitated before overtaking it. Perhaps he or she wondered if it was disrespectful to overtake the departed.

Author: gandhr

A local group of the Ramblers

Leave a Reply

