Walking Matters

Godalming & Haslemere Ramblers

Close encounters

Leave a comment

Today I checked the route of a walk I’m soon to lead and came across three obstacles I’d not met before. One was a field of recently cut grass. The grass was left in neat rows perpendicular to the footpath. They were about two feet wide by one foot high and weren’t easy to cross. I wondered if they were full of ticks.

The second obstacle was worse. It was a field of long grass that had yet to be cut. The grass hid the path. Much of it was mid-thigh high; the shortest was knee-high. My progress through it was slow. I worried about more ticks and felt I was almost a sitting target for horseflies. I couldn’t see where I put my feet and hoped there were no hidden holes. It was a relief to reach the other edge of the field.

The third obstacle was in the middle of a kissing gate. Fortunately I was able to retrace my steps for a few yards and walk round it. It was a dead cat surrounded by buzzing flies.

Author: gandhr

A local group of the Ramblers

Leave a Reply

